Columbia Speeding Ticket Lawyers

Speeding Ticket Attorneys Serving  Lexington & Richland Counties

Speeding tickets are the most commonly issued traffic violations in South Carolina and across the nation. Unfortunately, it is all too easy to drive above the posted limit. Furthermore, the basic speeding law in our state requires you to drive at a safe speed based on the current driving conditions. Thus, in bad weather, you may be ticketed for speeding when law enforcement believes you are driving too fast due to rain, fog, ice, wind, or snow even if you are driving below the posted limit. 

Many people either ignore their ticket or pay the fine and move on. Ignoring your ticket is never a good idea. Paying the fine is an admission of guilt and results in points on your driving record that can lead to increased auto insurance premiums. However, you have the right to challenge your speeding ticket in court. The best way to do this is with the help of a qualified attorney who understands the law, court procedure, how to cross-examine, and how to cast doubt on the validity of your ticket. At Truslow & Truslow, we have been fighting for drivers in the courts for decades. We have the legal knowledge, skills, and tenacity you need in these matters.

Get the advice of one of our Columbia speeding ticket attorneys before you pay your fine. Contact Truslow & Truslow via our website or at (803) 590-6688 to discuss your ticket in a free case review.


Talk to Us About Your Speeding Violation

Speeding violations can result in fines, points, license suspension, and auto insurance premium spikes. If you ignore them, they can result in bench warrants. You can’t change your ticket but you can fight it and may be able to get a reduction in points even without a dismissal. 

Our team will carefully review your circumstances to advise you on where you stand and what can be done to help you avoid these consequences.

Discuss your speeding ticket with one of our Columbia, SC speeding lawyers by contacting us at (803) 590-6688 today.

Is it Worth Hiring a Lawyer for a Speeding Ticket?

While it may not always seem necessary to hire an attorney for a speeding ticket, depending on what happened and the circumstances of your case, there are times when hiring a speeding ticket attorney can be incredibly beneficial. An experienced Columbia speeding ticket attorney can help you negotiate a plea or lower your fines. They can also provide you with guidance on potential defenses, such as challenging the speed reading accuracy of the equipment used. 

Additionally, they can determine if other punishments, such as court fees and license suspensions, are valid or excessive. If your Columbia speeding ticket lawyer finds the additional penalties excessive, they can also help you challenge those. 

Speeding Tickets in South Carolina

Unfortunately, speeding tickets in our state are generally charged as misdemeanors. They result in penalties based on your alleged speed and whether it is a first or subsequent violation.

Penalties for speeding include:

  • $25 to $20 for speeds up to 10 mph over the limit
  • $20 to $50 for speeds ranging between 10 but less than 15 mph over the limit
  • $50 to $75 for speeds ranging between 15 but less than 25 mph over the limit
  • $75 up to $200 for speeds at 25 mph or more over the limit and/or up to 30 days in jail

Repeat offenses will result in harsher penalties. 

Additionally, you will face the consequences of having demerit points added to your driving record as follows:

  • 2 points added for speeding up to 10mph over the limit
  • 4 points added for speeding 11 to 24 mph over the limit
  • 6 points added for speeding 25 mph or more over the limit

How Demerit Points Can Affect Your License

South Carolina’s traffic violation point system assesses demerit points based on your traffic tickets which can lead to an automatic license suspension by the DMV. 

Suspensions are based on how many points you accumulate as follows:

  • 3-month suspension for 12 to 15 points
  • 4-month suspension for 16 to 17 points
  • 5-month suspension for 18 to 19 points
  • 6-month suspension for 20 or more points

After 12 months, your points will be reduced by half. After 24 months, they will be erased. You can also reduce your points by taking an approved defensive driving course. However, this option is only available to drivers once every three years. 

To discuss the specifics of your case, contact us at (803) 590-6688 today.
Contact us
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.