In South Carolina, arrests for driving under the influence tend to be relatively unforgiving. While it is illegal to drive with a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% or higher, you can still be arrested even with a lower BAC if you display physical signs consistent with intoxication or erratic driving patterns. Consequences of a DUI arrest are already severe and can include both criminal and civil penalties, but these ramifications are exacerbated if there is a child passenger in the car. South Carolina has a sentence enhancement statute for DUIs that involve a passenger who is a minor, a provision that only goes from bad to worse if the police argue that your intoxication caused an accident that resulted in great bodily harm.
Charges for a DUI arrest can be intimidating, especially if you were implicated while driving with a passenger under the age of sixteen. Allegations of this nature warrant the counsel of an experienced Columbia DUI with a child passenger attorney who is well-versed in the various stipulations of South Carolina’s DUI laws. Fortunately, the defense lawyers at Truslow & Truslow have decades of experience handling intoxicated driving cases and can help guide you through the legal process of combatting these charges.
After accumulating 12 points, the DMV could possibly suspend your license!
South Carolina’s DUI statutes include a stipulation on child endangerment that comes into effect when an adult over eighteen years old drives intoxicated with one or more passengers under sixteen. Under these conditions, a child endangerment charge increases the penalties for a DUI charge in the following ways:
If the child passenger suffers bodily harm during the alleged period of intoxicated driving, the offense then becomes a Class 4 Felony and may result in a minimum $2,500 fine and 1-3 years of jail time. These are harsh consequences, and the prospect of facing them is daunting. However, you do not have to go through this troubling time by yourself.
At Truslow & Truslow, our attorneys can assist you if you have been accused of DUI with a child in the vehicle. It is imperative that your charge is resolved favorably, efficiently, and effectively to protect your livelihood and keep your family intact. If mishandled, a DUI charge can quickly turn a lapse in judgment or an error in law-enforcement into a life-altering conviction. A DUI conviction can impact your job, your finances, and your family. In South Carolina, the severity of the sentence is often dependent on whether it is your first offense or if you have been charged with DUI in the past, it is essential that you talk to an attorney as soon as you have been arrested.
Truslow & Truslow represents individuals, service members, and small businesses throughout the State of South Carolina. Douglas N. Truslow entered private practice in 1979. In 2009, he and his son, Neal D. Truslow formed Truslow & Truslow to serve the citizens and small businesses of South Carolina. With over 48 years of combined legal experience, Truslow & Truslow is committed to working for you. We put our clients first, we will protect your rights, and we will assist you with your DUI with a child passenger charge. We provide individual attention to each client, and we make sure that no question is left unanswered. We have the experience and track record to get results.
A Columbia DUI with a child passenger attorney at Truslow & Truslow will review the specific details of your case and guide you through the legal process. We believe that people deserve an opportunity to show that a single mistake does not justify a harsh, lasting punishment. We have extensive experience helping individuals fight for their rights, and we can fight for you. Our attorneys have helped countless individuals get DUI charges against them reduced or dropped altogether. We are here to help, and you do not have to shoulder the burden of criminal charges alone. It is important to act soon to protect your freedom. Don’t hesitate to complete our online form or contact our offices today for a confidential consultation with an experienced attorney at (803) 256-6276.
After a serious DUI charge, you may have many questions. What is the fine for this offense? Will jail time be required? Will my driver’s license be suspended? Do I need an attorney? After being charged with DUI, it is essential to allow an attorney to assist you, due to the nature of your serious charges. The legal process can be challenging with criminal court penalties. Depending on whether it is your first or second offense, you will also face penalties with the South Carolina DMV regarding your driver’s license suspension. Let our firm handle all your paperwork and negotiation so that your charge is resolved favorably, efficiently, and effectively to protect your livelihood and so that you and your family will not suffer any negative consequences.
Make the best decision for your future and contact Truslow & Truslow. We have a strong track record of success helping people get the charges against them reduced or dropped completely. We have extensive experience assisting individuals and families in the Columbia and surrounding areas. We know this is a difficult time for you and we can help.
With Truslow & Truslow as your advocates, we are ready to fight to protect your best interests so that your freedom is protected, and so you and your family will not suffer the consequences of choosing the wrong representation for your case. Our firm has handled over 2,000 cases, and we have a 99% client satisfaction. We are effective, efficient, and experienced and we will work tirelessly on your behalf. Contact us at (803) 256-6276 for a confidential consultation and get started, as your time to take action is limited after a DUI charge.
If you have been arrested for DUI and if there was child in the vehicle when you were apprehended, you likely have many questions about the charges and how you can fight to protect your freedom and your livelihood. Because the specifics of each case are different, it is important to speak with an attorney to discuss the details of your case. We have provided the answers to a few commonly-asked questions we hear below, and we are ready to answer any specific questions you may have about your particular case. Don’t wait, contact us today.
Unfortunately, even first time DUI offenders can see jail time. This jail time is to be at minimum two days and not to exceed 30 days. However, judges will often grant the option for community service hours rather than jail time for a nonviolent offender.
It is highly recommended that you seek the representation of a DUI with a child passenger attorney as soon as possible after a DUI charge or accident. At Truslow & Truslow, we have the resources and knowledge that is needed to help individuals charged with DUI with a child passenger, and judges can require community service for some charges. We can get real results that can protect you and your family from negative consequences. We work for you!
For South Carolina residents, here are some statistics:
Being convicted of a DUI charge in combination with a child endangerment charge has the potential to be life-altering. At Truslow & Truslow, our effective, efficient and experienced DUI attorneys can help you through this difficult process and provide effective counsel for those arrested for DUI with a child passenger. Complete our online form or contact our Columbia offices at (803) 256-6276 to discuss the particulars of your case and learn more about your options. Protect your rights so that there will not be any negative consequences for you or your family. Act now, as your time is limited after a DUI charge.