Every holiday season, families and friends look forward to annual gatherings. While such occasions can be a great chance to catch up and spend time with those you love, they’re not completely without risk. Drinking at holiday gatherings can lead to reckless driving and motor vehicle accidents.
Additionally, driving under the influence of alcohol puts you at risk of being charged with a DUI, which can stay on your record forever. Luckily, the South Carolina criminal defense attorneys at Truslow & Truslow are prepared to help you understand the implications of a DUI charge. In the meantime, there are several easy steps you can take to avoid being charged with a DUI as you take to the roads this holiday season.
Assign a Designated Driver
Before getting behind the wheel, it’s important that you designate one person who is committed to remaining sober so that everyone in your party can get home safely. Determining this beforehand is a wise idea, as it will eliminate the chance of anyone driving drunk. If you find yourself in a circumstance where a designated driver is not available, local taxi companies and rideshare services like Lyft and Uber can be a good resource to use to make sure everyone in your group practices safe driving habits. Making this decision before attending a gathering where alcohol will be present is a wise choice that will keep both you and other motorists safe as you get behind the wheel – or don’t.
Each individual interacts with alcohol in a different way. Factors like age, weight, height, and genetic predisposition can all play a role in determining how quickly your body absorbs alcohol. It’s important that you’re aware of how alcohol affects you so that you don’t put yourself in a situation where you’ll have to drive while drunk.
In the state of South Carolina, a BAC of 0.08 percent or higher is enough for you to be charged with a DUI. Your BAC, or blood alcohol content, is the percentage of alcohol that your body has not yet absorbed at any given time. It’s important to be aware of how your body interacts with alcohol, as you may not become drunk at the same rate as those around you. When you’re aware of your own capacity when it comes to alcohol, you can more easily prevent motor vehicle accidents this holiday season.
Don’t Drink and Drive
Though it may seem simple, the easiest way to avoid being charged with a DUI this holiday season is to not drink and drive. There are many impairments that come with driving drunk, including blurred vision, damaged depth perception, increased reaction time, and diminished judgment.
In addition to the risks of driving drunk, in the state of South Carolina, it’s illegal to drive while under the influence of alcohol. You may face penalties, such as fines of up to $6,300 and/or time in prison, depending on your BAC level at the time you are charged. In refraining from drinking and driving, you’re choosing the safest option and are working to protect both those in your party and other nearby motorists.
According to a report from Responsibility.org, in 2018, there were 291 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities across the state of South Carolina. Of this number, 27 were fatalities of those under 21 years of age.
Data from the South Carolina Department of Public Safety shows that from “2013-2017 […] that there were 28,235 DUI-related collisions reported statewide.”
A study from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration shows that in 2019, there were 5.72 impaired driving deaths per 100,000 people in the state of South Carolina.
Give Truslow & Truslow a Call Today
Dealing with the repercussions of a DUI can be extremely stressful, particularly if you have been wrongfully charged. The team of top-tier attorneys at Truslow & Truslow is here to help as you seek justice in your wrongful DUI case.
Call Truslow & Truslow at (803) 256-6276 to schedule a confidential consultation today. We’ll put you in contact with one of our attorneys to discuss your circumstances and determine the best next steps. Get the experienced DUI lawyers of Truslow & Truslow in your corner today. We’re available 24/7 so we can answer your questions right when you need us. We’ll do everything we can to get your charges dropped or reduced so the DUI has as little effect on the rest of your life as possible.
Call (803) 256-6276 today.