How does the state of South Carolina define DUI?
Posted on Sunday, January 15th, 2017 at 6:19 pm
Like in other states, South Carolina considers drunk driving a serious violation; offenders not only endanger themselves but also the lives of innocent drivers and pedestrians around them. Drivers might get a ticket or, more likely, authorities could arrest and further penalize them if they have been found out to be under the influence of intoxicants past the legal limit. Drivers should know the following information on how the state define DUI:
- Blood Alcohol Concentration of 0.08 percent or above is considered illegal
- It is illegal for drivers whose age is below 21 years old to drive if their BAC is 0.02 percent or above
- It is illegal for Commercial Drivers License bearers to drive a vehicle if their BAC is 0.04 percent or above
Drivers should know that they may need to settle hefty fines or they may serve imprisonment if authorities find out that they are driving a vehicle while under the influence of intoxicants. More serious penalties could be imposed for offending drivers who have been involved in vehicular accidents that resulted in personal injuries.
If you have been arrested for DUI, the Columbia attorneys at Truslow & Truslow may work for you. Find out how today by calling (803) 256-6276.